Darwin Sailing Club
The Rule Quiz 24/5

News from the Darwin Sailing Club

Sail, socalise and dine in the heart of Darwin

Posted on 24 May, 2018

The Rule Quiz 24/5

The Rule Quiz 24/5

This Week's Quiz:

Facts:

Boat X clearly fouls Boat Y. Boat Y immediately protests correctly (hails sail #, red flag, as necessary, etc), but Boat X doesn't take penalty turns. Boat Z witnesses the entire incident, including boat X choosing to not take penalty turns.

After the race, Boat Y decides to not follow through with the protest. Having witnessed the incident, Boat Z decides to protest Boat X since Boat Y isn't going to follow through with their protest. Boat Z informs the race committee and Boat X, and completes the protest form within the protest time. Is this considered a valid protest?

Last Week's Answer:

Facts:

The sailing instructions stated that the finishing line was between a mast onshore and a mark, with an inner limit mark to be left to port. On the day in question, the inner limit mark lay on the post-finish side of the line. P crossed the line, and then rounded the inner limit mark as shown in the diagram.The race officer timed her as finishing when her bow crossed the line, before she had rounded the limit mark.

S requested redress on the grounds that the race officer acted incorrectly in recording P as having finished before she had completed the course.The protest committee did not give S redress. What would you have done?

Answer:

Rule 28.1 states that A boat 'may leave on either side a mark that does not begin, bound or end the leg she is sailing. 'Since the inner limit mark was beyond the finishing line it did not 'bound' or 'end' the last leg of the course. Only when a limit mark is on, or on the course side of, the finishing line must a boat leave it on the specified side before, or when, finishing.



Thanks to our major sponsors