Darwin Sailing Club
The Rule Quiz 13-04

News from the Darwin Sailing Club

Sail, socalise and dine in the heart of Darwin

Posted on 13 April, 2018

The Rule Quiz 13-04

The Rule Quiz 13-04

This Week's Quiz:

This week's quiz covers a discussion at the DSC Clubhouse over the last few weeks. 

Facts for Question 1

In a fleet race for one-design boats, boat A uses tactics that clearly interfere with and hinder boat B's progress in the race. While using those tactics, A does not break any rule, except possibly rule 2 or rule 69.1(a). B protests A under rule 2.

In which of the following circumstances would A's tactics be considered  unsportsmanlike and a breach of rule 2 or of rule 69.1(a)?

(a)The protest committee finds that there was a reasonable chance that

A's tactics would benefit her final ranking in the event.

(b) The protest committee finds that there was a reasonable chance that A's tactics would increase her chances of gaining selection for another event, but would not benefit her final ranking in the event.

(c)The protest committee finds that there was a reasonable chance that A's tactics would increase her chances of gaining selection to her national team, but would not benefit her final ranking in the event.

(d) The protest committee finds that A and a third boat, boat C, had agreed that they would both adopt tactics that benefited C and hat there was a reasonable chance that A's tactics would benefit C's final ranking in the event.

(e)The protest committee finds that A was attempting to worsen B's race or series score for reasons unconnected with sport.


Question 2

Would Answer 1 be different if the boats had been racing under a handicap or rating system and if A had been faster or more manoeuverable than B?

Question 3

Would Answer 1 be different if, while using tactics that clearly interfered with and hindered B's progress in the race, A had intentionally broken a rule?


Last Week's Answer

Question

The definition Racing states that a boat that 'finishes and clears the finishing line and marks' is no longer racing. When does a boat' clear' the finishing line and marks?

Answer

A boat clears the finishing line and marks when no part of her hull, crew or equipment is on the line, and no mark is influencing her choice of course.

A boat clears the finishing line and marks when the following two conditions are met: no part of her hull, crew or equipment is on the line, and no finishing mark is influencing her choice of course.

For example, a boat that clears the finishing line and then continues to sail toward a finishing mark, where current sets her into the mark, is still racing and has broken rule 31. However, a boat that crosses the finishing line, and sails to a position at which no finishing mark is influencing her choice of course, is no longer racing. If, later, she hits a finishing mark, she does not break rule 31.



Thanks to supporters of the Darwin Sailing Club