Darwin Sailing Club
The Rule Quiz 19-04

News from the Darwin Sailing Club

Sail, socalise and dine in the heart of Darwin

Posted on 19 April, 2018

The Rule Quiz 19-04

The Rule Quiz 19-04

This Week's Quiz:

Facts

Boat X requests redress under rule 62.1(b) claiming that her score in a race has been, through no fault of her own, made significantly worse by injury or physical damage caused by the action of boat Y that was breaking a rule of Part 2.

Question

Does X need to protest Y to support her request for redress?

Last Week's Quiz

Facts for Question 1

In a fleet race for one-design boats, boat A uses tactics that clearly interfere with and hinder boat B's progress in the race. While using those tactics, A does not break any rule, except possibly rule 2 or rule 69.1(a). B protests A under rule 2.

In which of the following circumstances would A's tactics be considered  unsportsmanlike and a breach of rule 2 or of rule 69.1(a)?

(a)The protest committee finds that there was a reasonable chance that

A's tactics would benefit her final ranking in the event.

(b) The protest committee finds that there was a reasonable chance that A's tactics would increase her chances of gaining selection for another event, but would not benefit her final ranking in the event.

(c)The protest committee finds that there was a reasonable chance that A's tactics would increase her chances of gaining selection to her national team, but would not benefit her final ranking in the event.

(d) The protest committee finds that A and a third boat, boat C, had agreed that they would both adopt tactics that benefited C and hat there was a reasonable chance that A's tactics would benefit C's final ranking in the event.

(e) The protest committee finds that A was attempting to worsen B's race or series score for reasons unconnected with sport.

Answer 1

In circumstance (a), A would be incompliance with recognized principles of sportsmanship and fair play.

In circumstances (b) and (c), A would break rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a).

In circumstance (d), both A and C would break rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a). In addition, by receiving help prohibited by rule 41 from A, C would also break rule 41.

In circumstance (e), A would break rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a) because, with no good sporting reason, her actions would clearly break recognized principles of sportsmanship and fair play.


Question 2

Would Answer1 be different if the boats had been racing under a handicap or rating system and if A had been faster or more manoeuvrable than B?

Answer 2

No.

Question 3

Would Answer1 be different if, while using tactics that clearly interfered with and hindered B's progress in the race, A had intentionally broken a rule?

Answer 3

Yes. When ever a boat intentionally breaks a rule, she also breaks rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a)




Thanks to supporters of the Darwin Sailing Club