Darwin Sailing Club
The Rule Quiz 23_03

News from the Darwin Sailing Club

Sail, socalise and dine in the heart of Darwin

Posted on 23 March, 2018

The Rule Quiz 23_03

The Rule Quiz 23_03

This Week's Quiz:

As boats approach a downwind finishing line, a tidal current takes one of them outside one of the finishing marks. She sails beyond the entire finishing line, rounds other finishing mark, and then crosses the finishing line from its course side.

Question:

Has the boat complied with rule 28.2?

Last Week's Quiz:

Facts

After sailing along side P for some time on port tack,S gybes to starboard tack without breaking rule 15. Both boats continue to sail parallel courses. About two minutes after her gybe S begins to luff. P does not respond to the luff and the boats touch at position 3. There is no damage or injury.

The Rule Quiz 23_03

The Rule Quiz 23_03The Rule Quiz 23_03Questions

At the time of the contact, does rule 15 still apply? Does S break rule 16?

Answers

S as the starboard-tack boat has right of way under rule10, and P as the port-tack boat must keep clear. Rule 15 applies only briefly after S becomes the right-of-way boat, but rule16.1continues to limit how S may change course.S may luff provided that she does so in a way that gives P room to keep clear, and P must be prepared to react promptly, if necessary by gybing, to continue to keep clear. Rule 16.2 does not apply because, although the boats are on opposite tacks, P is not sailing to pass astern of S. Since P has room to keep clear of S by responding promptly when S luffs, S does not break rule 16.1. P does not keep clear and does not avoid contact with S. P therefore is to be penalized for breaking rules 10 and 14.

S also breaks rule 14 because, after it became clear that P was not keeping clear, S could have avoided the contact. However, because there was no damage or injury she is exonerated (see rule 14(b)).


Thanks to our major sponsors