Darwin Sailing Club
The Rule Quiz 29_03

News from the Darwin Sailing Club

Sail, socalise and dine in the heart of Darwin

Posted on 29 March, 2018

The Rule Quiz 29_03

The Rule Quiz 29_03

This Week's Quiz:

Facts

Between the preparatory and starting signals, Ephesian on starboard tack and Jupa on port tack approached each other head-to-head. Both boats were heavy keel boats, 33 feet (10m) long. Neither boat was aware of the other. The bowmen on both boats, who normally would have been stationed by the forestay, were handling their genoas, and no other crew members were keeping a lookout. Ephesian was moving slowly with limited manoeuvrability. They collided, causing serious damage to Jupa, who therefore retired. In the resulting protest, Jupa was disqualified under rule10, and Ephesian was disqualified under rule14. Ephesian appealed, claiming that she could not have avoided Jupa by changing course or speed.

Question:

What did the Appeal Jury decide

Last Week's Quiz:

The Rule Quiz 29_03

Facts:

As boats approach a downwind finishing line, a tidal current takes one of them outside one of the finishing marks. She sails beyond the entire finishing line, rounds other finishing mark, and then crosses the finishing line from its course side.

Question:

Has the boat complied with rule 28.2?

The Rule Quiz 29_03The Rule Quiz 29_03Yes. When the course requires boats to pass between two marks at a finishing line or at a gate, a boat complies with rule 28.2 if the string representing her track when drawn taut passes between the marks from the direction of the previous mark. She complies with rule 28.2 even if the string also passes one mark of the finishing line or gate on the non- required side. In this case the boat passed the buoy serving as a mark of the finishing line on then on-required side before passing it on the required side.


Thanks to our major sponsors