Darwin Sailing Club
The Rules Quiz

News from the Darwin Sailing Club

Sail, socalise and dine in the heart of Darwin

Posted on 02 February, 2018

The Rules Quiz

The Rules Quiz

Rule 16.1, Changing Course

Facts:

Before the starting signal, the two boats, A and B, reached away from the starting line. A, moving faster, passed and was clear ahead of B at position 3. At position 4, A luffed up to close-hauled, intending to tack back to the line, but she found that B also had luffed and worked in to position where, had A tacked,there would have been an immediate collision. A then bore away to gybe, only to discover that B had borne away into a position where a gybe would again cause collision. Finally, B gybed and  headed for the starting line, leaving A well astern.

A protested B underrule16.1, claiming that she had been interfered with while in the act of keeping clear.

Question:

Do you think B is guilty of a rule breach?

Answer next Cyber Spinnaker.


Thanks to supporters of the Darwin Sailing Club