Darwin Sailing Club
Racing series

Racing series

Racing series at the Darwin Sailing Club

Point Score series

The Point Score series are for our off the beach boats. Both series are in the dry, and run as two separate events. Each series has a winner with the results going towards the Divisional Boat of the Year. Held out in front of the Club in Fannie Bay these races really make the most of our flat water; start times vary around prevailing winds and tides.

Harbour series

The Harbour series are for the big boats in Divisions 1, 2, 3 & 4. This series is conducted during the dry and is made up of great races taking in, mostly, permanent marks in Fannie Bay and Darwin Harbour. Results also contribute towards the Divisional Boat of the Year. As these are harbour races they really make the most of our flat water. Start times are 1400hrs for the first division of each day's racing.

Classic series

Our Classic series are races which have been sailed at the Club since its foundation; they always draw the boats to the start line and the sailors to the Club. There are five Classic races: Shell Island, Middle Arm, East Point Regatta, Old Man Rock and Cock of the Sea.

Arafura Short Offshore Point Score series

This series has races that take our larger boats in Divisions 1, 2, 3  and 4. They race further out into the blue and include night sailing too. The Arafura Short Offshore Point Score series consists of five races: Fish Reef, Buchanan Island, Rooper Rock, Knight's Reef and Marsh Shoal.

Bynoe Harbour series

The Bynoe Harbour series includes the Turnbull Bay race weekend on the May Day long weekend and the Crab Claw Island race on the Queen's Birthday long weekend in June. They are very much social events as well as races.

Fannie Bay Bucket regatta

The Fannie Bay Bucket is a two-day, three-race yacht regatta held annually. This year it will be on April 22nd and 23rd. The regatta consists of pursuit races where each boat is given its own start time. Each boat must have at least one novice crew on board.

The emphasis of this event is fun relaxed racing and good social activities on land.

Boats are encouraged to moor in Fannie Bay on the Saturday evening, subject to suitable weather.

Match Racing

2017 brings exciting new competition to DSC, with the first Match Racing events in the club's matched fleet of Elliott 7s. Match racing is a one on one competition with a singular objective: be first across the finish line.

It is a battle of strategy and tactics. A good knowledge of the rules is important.

The match racing opportunites are:

Match Racing Clinic - Youth 10th & 11th June - Open 12th June

Trial match racing day - 25th June

Darwin International Youth Match Racing Regatta - July 5th - 8th. This World Sailing Grade 3 event will invite youth teams from Australia and Asia.

Darwin Open Match Racing Regatta - September 2nd and 3rd. A chance for our open sailors to mix it with our youth teams, for match racing bragging rights.


Two local championships occur each year that attract interstate competitors:

  • Darwin Sailing Club Championships
  • NT Championships

The Darwin Sailing Club has hosted many national events including:

  • Australian Minnow Championships
  • Australian Tasar Nationals
  • Australian Laser Championships
  • Australian Tornado Championships
  • Australian A-Class Championships
  • Australian Catamaran Week

Thanks to our major sponsors