Darwin Sailing Club

Darwin - Saumlaki Yacht Race & Rally

Saumlaki Beach - Tanimbar Islands, Indonesia

The 2020 Darwin to Saumlaki Yacht Race & Rally will be conducted on the waters of Darwin Harbour, Beagle Gulf and the Arafura Sea.

Owners of eligible yachts are invited to submit an expression of interest

The race is organised and conducted by the Darwin Sailing Club Inc.

About the 2020 Darwin - Saumlaki Yacht Race 

The 283 nm Darwin - Saumlaki race starting at 1000hrs Saturday 26th September, will provide an opportunity to race to the beautiful Tanimbar Islands of Indonesia.

The Tanimbar Islands, also called Timur Laut, are a group of about 65 islands in the Maluku province of Indonesia, including Fordata, Larat, Maru, Molu, Nuswotar, Selaru, Selu, Seira, Wotap, Wuliaru and Yamdena. The Indonesian phrase timur laut means "east of the sea" or "northeast". ...

Saumlaki is the chief town, located on the south end of Yamdena in a natural harbour.

The Islands, have a distinct culture and remain a major centre for the production of traditional crafts like ikat cloth and carved wooden statues in Maluku, and also have their own forms of music and dance.

Cultural attractions apart, the Tanimbars also have their own distinct fauna, including 8 species of birds endemic to the archipelago, and the fine beaches.

Most of the above attractions can be found on the main island of Yamdena, which is also home to the regional capital Saumlaki. This is the most accessible of the islands, and the main focus of most visits. Of the other islands, Larat in the north, with its town of the same name is the most accessible one, and the only one to offer any facilities.

The race is supported by the local and regional governments in Indonesia. Customs and Immigration formalities have been arranged with some Indonesian agency staff traveling to Saumlaki specifically for the event. The time allowance for the race reflects this.

A race presentation ceremony, will take place in Saumlaki, at noon on Thursday 30th September.

Indications are for a fleet of around twelve yachts to undertake the race. Early entry is recommended. ENTRIES CLOSE 24th August 2020.

Please register interest, by clicking on the Link at the top of the page or email [email protected] 


  • Line Honours
  • ORC (Monohull)
  • PHS (Monohull)
  • PHS (Multihull)
  • Cruising (Engine use permitted)


Thanks to supporters of the Darwin Sailing Club